November 1, 2007

8th Annual Golf Tournament at SouthWood

Corrections Foundation Golf LogoWe offer our many thanks to the participants, sponsors and door prize donors of the Corrections Foundation’s golf tournament last Thursday. The tournament was held at SouthWood Golf Club in Tallahassee and welcomed 112 golfers from around the state. 

It was a pleasure to meet many of the Departments employees as they came together to raise funds for the Employee Assistance Program and other Foundation initiatives serving DC employees. We wish to thank Secretary McDonough for his support of this event and Deputy Secretary Dr. Bedard, Chief of Staff Mr. Prudom and all the leadership staff for their support and participation in this year’s tournament. It was a beautiful day for golf!

The grand prize hole for a hole-in-one was sponsored by Pro Tech Monitoring and although there was not a grand prize winner many came very close to taking home a beautiful 2007 Ford Mustang. The Closest to the Hole (10’ 6”) winner was Dr. Newton of Lake Correctional Institution and the Longest Drive winner was Dustin Taylor of Central Office. 

Congratulations to these teams on their impressive scores.
First Place Gross – Score of 54
Wakulla Correctional Institution team of:
David Croy
David Clark
William Chessher
Kendall Lindsey

First Place Net – Score of 49
Florida State Prison team of:
Randall Polk
Kevin Lingis
Robert Bonsall
Jeffrey Allen

Second Place Net – Score of 51
Columbia Correctional Institution and Lake City Community Corrections
Dillard Jones
Byron Gilbert
Zack Strohl
William Fizer

Third Place Net – Score of 51
Jackson Correctional Institution
Donnie Leigh
Robert Chason
Steven Cloud
Brad Shouppe

We thank our Board of Directors for their support in planning the tournament and for their attendance and participation in the event. Among the Board members present were Mr. Louie Wainwright, Mr. Tom Rush, Mr. Dick Pearce, Mr. Jason Clinger, Ms. Betty Bennett, Col. Butch Redding, RET., and Mr. Dave Mecusker. We would like to especially thank Mr. Wainwright for his continued leadership as President. During his tenure as President our membership has grown from 500 to more than 15,000 and we look forward to the coming year as we continue to strive to serve DC’s dedicated employees.

A special thank you goes to the Corrections Foundation amazing staff, Chris Akins, Sheila Logue and Nick Dawkins for another job well done. From planning to implementation I appreciate each of you for always giving 110%. To our great volunteers, Debbie Kissane, Joy Ailstock, Charles Lockwood and Les Dumas, we couldn’t pull this event together without your support. THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!!!

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram