Posted on June 18, 2024

Corrections Foundation Announces Winners for the 2024 Louie L. Wainwright Scholarships

The Corrections Foundation is proud to announce the winners of the 2024 Louie L. Wainwright Scholarships, as selected by the Board of Directors on Thursday, June 6, 2024, at Marion CI.

  • Central Office: Evita Bell (Office of Institutions)
  • Region 1 Institutions: Corinne Bilyayev (Okaloosa CI)
  • Region 2 Institutions: Josean Echevarria (Tomoka CI)
  • Region 3 Institutions: Ceaira Crawford (Central Florida Reception Center)
  • Region 4 Institutions: Jacqueline Jones (South Florida Reception Center)
  • Region 1 Community Corrections: Jessica Walden (Region 1 Office)
  • Region 2 Community Corrections: Lauryn Young (Circuit 8)
  • Region 3 Community Corrections: Angelica Pennington (Circuit 10)
  • Region 4 Community Corrections: Drew Hellebrand (Circuit 20)

The Corrections Foundation has sent $1,000 to the college or university of each recipient to be applied to their tuition.

Florida Department of Corrections Secretary Ricky Dixon said, “I could not be prouder to acknowledge the hard work and dedication of these nine outstanding individuals. They are the future of corrections here in Florida, and I am glad to see the Corrections Foundation assisting them to further their careers. We encourage our staff to never stop working on their professional development, and that is embodied through this scholarship.”

Brian Wynns, Board President for the Corrections Foundation, said, "We received 47 valid applications with 394 pages to review. You can see the applicants' level of dedication to growing their careers, to the Florida Department of Corrections, and to the citizens of Florida. We had a challenging job but it was also very rewarding."

The Corrections Foundation will open the Louie L. Wainwright Scholarships application form for 2025 on January 1st, 2025. We will continue awarding nine $1,000 scholarships - one for Central Office and one for each Region for Institutions and Community Corrections.

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram